Movies Not To Watch

Splice (2009)

It has been a while since we have seen this movie. We watched it shortly after it came out on video and that was months before we started this blog.  I have done my best to forget this movie up until now.  Someone I work with watched it this past week and when she mentioned it all the painful memories came flooding back.  I will say this about the film, I thought it was scary. I am a fan of both Adrien Brody and Sarah Polley, and their performances were not bad.  However this movie goes quickly from scary to creepy and then straight into disturbingly weird.  Too weird if you ask me. I think most of the film is understandable up until a certain point where Adrien Brody make an unusual decision.  If you have seen the film you know what I am talking about and if you haven’t seen the film I strongly suggest you don’t try to find out.  Everything that happens from that point on just gets weirder and stranger then ultimately unsettling. Their efforts to set up a sequel storyline frankly made me more than uncomfortable.

This is a movie I spent a while warning people against after I saw it and having been reminded of it this week wanted to give you the same warning. Avoid this film at all cost or be prepared for scenes you might not be able to forget. I have yet to find anyone that actually liked this film but if you are out there feel free to argue your case.  I will not be seeing any sequel if one is in fact made, and hopefully I never come across this disturbing film again.

3 comments

Leave a comment